Portugal inaugural winners of UEFA Nations League


Portugal have won the inaugural UEFA Nations League title after beating Netherlands 1-0 in final on Sunday night.

Gonçalo Guedes’ superb strike in the 60th minute gave Portugal the lead at Estadio do Dragao, Porto.

In the third place match, England beat Switzerland 6-5 in penalties, after goalless regular and extra time periods.

The inaugural UEFA Nations League Finals is a knockout tournament that took place from 5-9 June, involving the four group winners of the top-ranked League A: Portugal (hosts), England, Switzerland and the Netherlands.

While the winner gets a 71-cm tall sterling silver trophy, it also gets the €10.5M prize money.

The second-place team gets €9.0M, while €8.0M for the third-place and €7.0M for the fourth-placed teams will be given.

Categories:   Anadolu